Regions and subregions

Across Australia there are 11 training regions, managed by nine Regional Training Organisations (RTOs) that deliver the AGPT program. GP Synergy delivers the AGPT program in the three NSW/ACT training regions – North Eastern NSW, Lower Eastern NSW and Western NSW.

Each GP Synergy training region is divided into subregions in which registrars are allocated at the time of training offer. Applicants will be allocated to a subregion on the basis of merit, or via subregion priority preferencing.

GP Synergy registrars are required to undertake the majority of GP term training within the training subregion they have been allocated. For more information visit Training location obligations.

There are nine GP Synergy offices (one in each subregion and two in the Murrumbidgee and ACT subregion) that deliver training and support to registrars, supervisors, practice staff and other stakeholders within their subregion.

Training regionSubregionsGP Synergy office
Western NSWMurrumbidgee and ACTCanberra
Wagga Wagga
Western NSWDubbo
North Eastern NSWHunter, Manning and Central CoastNewcastle
Nepean, Western and Northern SydneyLiverpool
New England/NorthwestArmidale
North CoastBallina
Lower Eastern NSWCentral, Eastern and South Western SydneyAlexandria
South Eastern NSWWollongong